Monday, July 13, 2015

REVIEW: Take the Fall (Take the Fall #1) by Marquita Valentine

Fans of Abbi Glines and Katy Evans will adore Take the Fall, the first spinoff novel from Marquita Valentine’s New York Times bestselling Boys of the South series. In this emotional new romance, passions run hot as a rugged, brooding Marine rekindles an old flame.

As a teenager, Seth O’Connor went to jail for a crime he had nothing to do with. He took the fall to protect the girl he loved, but the cruel realities of prison hardened him. After doing his time, Seth shuts her out and enlists in the Marines—until his grandmother’s funeral forces him to come home and face Rowan Simmons once again. The woman she’s become puts all his high-school memories to shame, and Seth wants her more than ever. Can he be honest about why he denied her for so long?

After Seth pushed her away, Rowan swore that no man would ever hurt her again. But the boy who broke her heart has become a sexy Marine, capable of fulfilling her every desire—and now that he’s back in town, old feelings are simmering to a boil. Rowan wants to stay strong, even as her body surrenders to his expert touch. She only hopes that by taking him back, she can finally help heal the wounds that drove them apart.

Includes a special message from the editor, as well as an excerpt from another Loveswept title.

   

3.75 "be pissed at me tomorrow but love me tonight" STARS

This was my first Marquita Valentine novel and the prologue was just so riveting and heartbreaking that it sucked me right in. I immediately connected to Seth, Rowan and Jase and the story had my full attention.


This is a story about young love that's ripped to shreds by circumstance but also with the help of some foolish actions that can be blamed on youth and raw emotion.

It starts with an illegal street race for pinks that leads to a tragic outcome for both Seth and Jase.


Seth O'Connor is seventeen and idolizes Jase Simmons and worships Jase's younger sister Rowan, who is also Seth's girlfriend. Ms. Valentine readily captures the intense love and connection between Rowan and Seth.


My heart broke when this tragic event destroys Seth's dreams and ruins the hopes of three young lives. Seth ends up in prison for a crime he had nothing to do with and is then forced to join the marines.

Once faced with the harsh reality of jail, Seth pushes Rowan away. He can't help but blame her for his situation. Rowan is gutted, abandoned by all and at first, she doesn't give up. Seth does a bang up job of shutting her out so, after two years, Rowan finally moves on and ices her heart to Seth.

Both Seth and Rowan are strong, likable characters and both are determined and stubborn. This story had a lot of emotional layers with both the H/h doing stupid things to protect themselves and cope with their situation. Both of them are flawed and sure, some of their pain, anger and sadness could have been avoided however, they experienced a disastrous event that literally altered their lives and left deep wounds. I had my moments with both of them but also got why they did what they did.


Their second chance/journey back together had some hot and steamy moments, tender, painful and some cute moments too. Despite the past and the mistakes, it's apparent that these two love and belong together...even if it takes them both a while to find their way back.


This could have been easily 4 stars for me had it not been for the merry-go-round of Seth and Rowan patching things up. Just when you thought they were on the road to good things, we'd be back at Seth apologizing and trying to gain Rowan's trust again. I would recommend this book and I'm anxious to read the next book. I'm looking forward to bad-boy Jase getting down and dirty with uber good girl, Piper Ross. This promises to be an exciting ride!

**An ARC was provided via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.**


No comments:

Post a Comment